Traffic crashes are documented in one of two ways:
- State Crash Forms are used for accidents involving any type of injury and/or damages resulting in at least $1000. State Crash Forms are kept by the Department of Public Safety in Austin. State Crash Reports cost $6.00 to obtain. Due to recent legislative changes made to the Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 550 (specifically with the passage of House Bill 2633), the Richardson Police Department’s online purchasing feature has been temporarily suspended. If you are seeking a copy of a Texas State Crash Report, please download and complete the request form and bring it in person to the Richardson Police Department Records Unit, anytime between 8am – 5pm, Monday – Friday, excluding holidays.
- Call Cards are used to document minor crash with no injuries. Call Cards are not sent to the Department of Public Safety. They contain basic information about the crash and may be obtained from the Richardson Police Department. Call Cards can also be obtained online from the RPD at no charge. Request Call Card
If you were involved in a crash which resulted in injury and/or $1000 or more worth of damages, and was not investigated by a law enforcement officer, you may submit a State Crash Report to the Texas Department of Public Safety using this printable form. This must be done within ten (10) days of the crash.
You can reach the Records Department at (972) 744-4836 Monday-Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 p.m. (Central Time).